Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

PKP National Fellowship Winner 2020: Evan Mazur

Evan Mazur

The USA nominee for the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society national fellowship, Evan Mazur, was selected as a fellow for 2020 and will receive an $8500 award for graduate study. She is one of the Hohenstein Fellows, which go to the top-ranking nominee in each division. Congratulations, Evan!

PKP Names Laura Moore and Silas Leavesley Artist and Scholar of the Year 2019-20!

PKP Artist/Scholar Photo

Phi Kappa Phi named Dr. Laura Moore, associate professor and chair of music, as its Artist of the Year and Dr. Silas Leavesley, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, as its Scholar of the Year.  Read more about their accomplishments at USA News.

"Let the love of learning rule humanity."


Phi Kappa Phi Chapter #194

Phi Kappa Phi was born different. In 1897, 10 senior students, 2 faculty members and the University of Maine president created a new kind of honor society, one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Under the leadership of student Marcus L. Urann, the group formed the Lambda Sigma Eta Society, later renamed Phi Kappa Phi from the letters of the Greek words forming its motto, Philosophìa Krateìto Photôn, "Let the love of learning rule humanity." Today, Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engages the community of scholars in service to others.


 Learn more about joining Phi Kappa Phi at USA.